Tuesday, July 16, 2024

And They’re Off: The World Series of Poker Main Event Has Begun

Must read

The air crackled with electricity as Daniel Weinman took the mic and said “shuffle up and deal,” sending the 55th World Series of Poker $10,000 Main Event sailing on its way yesterday. Weinman, the 2023 Main Event champ, was all smiles as he did the honor.

Assaf Zeharia is one of the chip leaders of the 2024 WSOP Main Event. (Image: WSOP)

According to the WSOP, 916 players showed up for the first of four Day 1s of the Main Event. The field included at least two former champs, Qui Nguyen (2016) and Greg Merson (2012). They happened to be playing at the same table for most of the day. Both made it through to Day 2 with middling stacks.

Another player who was among the 620 players who made it through, Jon Pardy, spent the day live-streaming and providing his poker fans with personal updates. It sure seems like he’s having an awful lot of fun.

“Oh man, we had an absolute blast. The atmosphere was electric all day. You definitely know it’s Main Event day,” Pardy told the WSOP. “We had an amazing table. The table was talkative the entire time. We had an absolute blast. It was almost like a home game. You would never know it was a 10K buy-in.”

Three more Day 1s will take place before the field is first combined on Sunday. Players who have yet to buy-in can late register on Day 2s. After that, the tournament plays until the winner is crowded July 17.

Rank Player Country Chips Big Blinds
1 Joshua Feiger United States 311,900 390
2 Assaf Zeharia Israel 276,600 346
3 Frank Funaro United States 265,000 331
4 Mark Stockton United States 260,700 326
5 Jie Wu China 252,300 315
6 Nan Li United States 247,500 309
7 Vid Zagar Slovenia 241,300 302
8 Jonathan Wong United States 239,800 300
9 Naoya Kihara Japan 228,300 285
10 Pedro Bromfman Brazil 224,600 281
Top 10 chips counts after the first Day 1 of WSOP Main Event

Watch on PokerGO

Poker fans can watch the Main Event on the streaming site, PokerGO. Action will also be broadcast on CBS in the future. Here’s the streaming schedule:

Wednesday, July 3: Day 1a starting at 8:30 p.m. ET (5:30 p.m. PT)
Thursday, July 4: Day 1b starting at 8:30 p.m. ET (5:30 p.m. PT)
Friday, July 5: Day 1c starting at 8:30 p.m. ET (5:30 p.m. PT)
Saturday, July 6: Day 1d starting at 8:30 p.m. ET (5:30 p.m. PT)
Sunday, July 7: Day 2abc starting at 6:30 p.m. ET (3:30 p.m. PT)
Monday, July 8: Day 2d starting at 6:30 p.m. ET (3:30 p.m. PT)
Tuesday, July 9: Day 3 starting at 6:30 p.m. ET (3:30 p.m. PT)
Wednesday, July 10: Day 4 starting at 4 p.m. ET (1 p.m. PT)
Thursday, July 11: Day 5 starting at 4 p.m. ET (1 p.m. PT)
Friday, July 12: Day 6 starting at 4 p.m. ET (1 p.m. PT)
Saturday, July 13: Day 7 starting at 4 p.m. ET (1 p.m. PT)
Sunday, July 14: Day 8 starting at 4 p.m. ET (1 p.m. PT)
Tuesday, July 16: Final table starting at 6 p.m. ET (3 p.m. PT)
Wednesday, July 17: Final table starting at 6 p.m. ET (3 p.m. PT)

Latest article