Friday, June 14, 2024

WSOP Introduces New Rule Changes for Player of the Year

Must read

The World Series of Poker (WSOP) has long stood as the premier poker event globally, drawing the most skilled and dedicated players worldwide. Over the next two months, fierce competition will unfold as players vie for one of the most prestigious accolades in the WSOP: the Player of the Year (PoY) title.

Those looking to immortalise their names in poker lore need to be aware of the set of new rule changes that the WSOP has implemented for the PoY race. These modifications are crucial for anyone planning their summer grind and hoping to secure a spot at the top of the leaderboard.

2024 World Series of Poker Hub

Bookmark this page! All you need to know about the 2024 WSOP is here.

What Are the New Rules?

In a significant update for the 2024 WSOP PoY, a new set of rules have been introduced.

Players will now need a minimum of five results to qualify for the title. Furthermore, only their top ten points results will count towards their final score. Of these, a maximum of one online bracelet result is allowed.

This change ensures that while online performance is recognized, it does not disproportionately influence the overall standings.

The player’s best online result will be included in their top ten points results, contributing to the Player of the Year race. This adjustment aims to maintain the prestige and competitive integrity of the WSOP Player of the Year award.

What Does the WSOP PoY Win?

Other than etching their names into poker’s history books for eternity, the winner of the WSOP PoY race receives:

  • 2025 WSOP Main Event seat
  • A unique trophy
  • Player of the Year banner at Horseshoe/Paris
Ian Matakis
Ian Matakis

The latest player to have their PoY banner erected was Ian Matakis, who edged out Shaun Deeb to the title.

With one bracelet and 22 total cashes — nine of which were online — Matakis had a summer to remember. His biggest score of them all was for $205,696 when he took third place in a $3,000 Pot-Limit Omaha event.

He finished in the top 10 six times, including his first career bracelet in Online Event #2: $500 No-Limit Hold’em Bankroll Builder.

2023 WSOP Player of the Year Final Standings

Place Player Points
1 Ian Matakis 5,203
2 Shaun Deeb 4,276
3 Chris Brewer 4,127
4 Josh Arieh 3,938
5 Jesse Lonis 3,865
6 Michael Rodrigues 3,513
7 Chad Eveslage 3,447
8 Ben Yu 3,128
9 Phil Hellmuth 3,072
10 Yuval Bronshtein 3,056

WATCH: Daniel Negreanu & ODB’s Top $25K Fantasy Poker Tips

What Events Count Towards the PoY Race?

Daniel Weinman Wins 2023 WSOP Main Event
Daniel Weinman Wins 2023 WSOP Main Event

The 2024 PoY race will be exclusively based on the open bracelet events of the upcoming WSOP, which takes place at the Paris Las Vegas Hotel and Casino and Horseshoe Las Vegas from May 28 to July 17.

The Nevada/New Jersey/Michigan events on are also included, but as mentioned, only a player’s best online result will count toward their PoY points tally.

It’s important to note that certain events will be excluded from the leaderboards, which are:

  • Event #2: $500 Casino Employees No-Limit Hold’em
  • Event #46: $1,000 Seniors No-Limit Hold’em
  • Event #59: $1,000 Super Seniors No-Limit Hold’em
  • Event #65: $5,000 Seniors High Rollers No-Limit Hold’em
  • Event #71: $1,000/$10,000 Ladies Event
  • Event #75: $1,000 Tag Team No-Limit Hold’em

Other key information:

Heads-Up and Shootout events: Players eliminated in the same round (e.g. fifth through eighth place in a heads-up event, or all players eliminated on Day 2 of a shootout) will all receive the same points. The points awarded for those places will be the average of the points those places would have earned in a standard event.

Multi-flight events featuring Day 1 payouts: Some events (e.g. The Closer) offer the opportunity to cash more than once. However, a player will only earn POY points once for each event, and the points earned will be based on the position in the final results.

How are PoY Points Calculated?

The formula for calculating points for the PoY race is inspired by the proven point system utilized in the WSOP Circuit over the years. This system will be applied to each bracelet event but with some adjustments to account for the buy-in amount and the number of entries.

Players can use the WSOP PoY calculator to estimate points for any event, and the leaderboard will be updated daily for people to follow.

New WSOP Online Poker Site Merges Three US States

WSOP Player of the Year Winners

Year Winner Runner-Up
2023 Ian Matakis Shaun Deeb
2022 Dan Zack Daniel Weinman
2021 Josh Arieh Phil Hellmuth
2020 N/A (pandemic) N/A
2019 Robert Campbell Shaun Deeb
2018 Shaun Deeb Ben Yu
2017 Chris Ferguson John Racener
2016 Jason Mercier Paul Volpe
2015 Mike Gorodinsky Jonathan Duhamel
2014 George Danzer Brandon Shack-Harris
2013 Daniel Negreanu Matthew Ashton
2012 Greg Merson Phil Hellmuth
2011 Ben Lamb Phil Hellmuth
2010 Frank Kassela Michael Mizrachi
2009 Jeff Lisandro Ville Wahlbeck
2008 Erick Lindgren Barry Greenstein
2007 Tom Schneider Jeff Lisandro
2006 Jeff Madsen Phil Hellmuth
2005 Allen Cunningham Mark Seif
2004 Daniel Negreanu Ted Forrest
Name Surname

Editor & Live Reporter

Calum has been a part of the PokerNews team since September 2021 after working in the UK energy sector. He played his first hand of poker in 2017 and immediately fell in love with the game. Calum’s proudest poker achievement is winning the only tournament he has ever played in Las Vegas, the prestigious $60 Flamingo evening event.

Latest article